Dr Marc A Russo


Specialist Pain Medicine Physician

Dr Marc Russo is the Director of Hunter Pain Clinic, Hamilton Day Surgery Centre, Genesis Research Services and Co-Director of the Innervate Pain Management Program in Newcastle NSW Australia. He founded Hunter Pain Clinic in 1999, Hamilton Day Surgery in 2001, Hunter Specialist Medical Centre 2003 and Hunter Clinical Research in 2005. He also founded NAPS (Newcastle Anaesthetic Peri-operative Services).

Dr Russo's vision was to provide a multidisciplinary approach to pain management and developed Australia’s first successful multidisciplinary pain management model. Using this approach with clinical diligence, early intervention, education and research in the field of pain management, he successfully treats patients suffering from chronic persistent pain.  

Dr Russo is the founding member and immediate past President of the Australian Chapter of the International Neuromodulation Society. He is the current 2013-15 Secretary of the International Chapter of Neuromodulation Society and resides on advisory boards, scientific advisory boards and committees, both nationally and internationally.

Dr Russo specialises in spinal cord stimulator implantation and completed two successful world first spinal cord stimulator device implantations in Newcastle Australia in 2011, establishing him as a leader in his field. He instigates Intrathecal analgesia and other interventional pain medicine approaches, including a combination of pharmacotherapy and systems approaches.

Dr Russo has a special interest and expertise in Complex Regional Pain Syndrome. At present, he is a Principal Investigator supervising a clinical trial (2012-03-699) into the treatment of CRPS.

Dr Russo has published over 20 journal articles. Click here to view the complete list of publications.


  • Secretary International Neuromodulation Society
  • Member – Expert Panel in Neuromodulation - International Neuromodulation Society
  • Member International Medical Graduate Committee – Faculty of Pain Medicine ANZCA
  • Member Examination Committee - Faculty of Pain Medicine ANZCA